"Mike Doussan’s story is intrinsic to the human condition. There’s pain and pleasure, grit and grace, but much like the city of New Orleans and music itself, true beauty rises from chaos. His songs are proof."


We are making room fort new merchandise! Visit the Mike Doussan Store page to receive $10 off all T-Shirts while they last!

Yesterday's Troubles named top Record of 2019!

New Release now available

New full length record out now

In August of 2017, Mike Doussan teamed up with Roxy Bergeron of CSB Roxy Music and Bassist/Producer Charlie Wooton to record a collection of all new original songs.  Mike and Charlie spent weeks arranging and charting the new tunes before entering Music Shed Studios in the Lower Garden District of New Orleans. With drummer Doug Belote, keyboardist Keiko Komaki, and engineer Ben Lorio, the group laid down 13 base tracks in two and half days. This was the foundation for the new record to be named “Yesterday's Troubles.”


Over the course of the next year, Mike and Charlie called on some of the finest musicians* in New Orleans and the surrounding areas to sculpt the final textures of each track at Ben Lorio's second-story home studio overlooking historic Magazine Street.  GRAMMY winning engineer Eric Heigle (Arcade Fire, Lost Bayou Ramblers) was then brought in to mix the record. There was no other choice but GRAMMY nominated engineer Pete Lyman (Brandi Carlile, Jason Isbell, John Prine) for the final task of mastering at Infrasonic Sound out of Nashville.


“Yesterday's Troubles” was released May 31, 2019.


*musician credits- Mark Mullins, Tom Fitzpatrick, Bobby Campo, Jeff Watkins, Arséne DeLay, John Paul Carmody, Andre Bohren, Marc Paradis, Harry Hardin, Rurik Nunan, Rafael Periera, Cary Hudson

Free Download

"When It Rains" is a brand new single from Mike Doussan that tackles the subject of losing his youngest brother, Brett, to suicide.  While this isn't the first song Doussan has written about the subject, it is certainly the most raw and honest of the bunch offering insight into his ongoing grieving process.  "I am releasing this song in hopes to help someone that is experiencing similar pain process their grief knowing that they aren't alone in their experience," says Doussan.  He added, "I also hope that if someone feeling suicidal hears this, they may second guess their suicidal thoughts and work through to the next day. I've always said that if Brett could've made it through that night, he'd still be here." 

"When It Rains" features Doussan on guitar and vocals, Jack Craft (Sweet Crude) on cello, and Andre Bohren (Johnny Sketch & The Dirty Notes) on keys and percussion.  It was engineered by Joe Armitage and mixed by Michael Harvey at NOLA Recording Studios. 

The process of recording this song has inspired a project focused on producing and releasing a record of Brett Doussan's never before released original music. Proceeds from the sale of this record will support suicide prevention efforts.  If you would like to further support this project, please click the link below.